top of page

Ohio State Wins Women’s National Hockey Championship

Annabel Curry

Ohio State women’s hockey celebrates as the final whistle blows.

The Ohio State women's hockey team is back on top after winning the 2024 National Championship. The Buckeyes bested the defending champion Wisconsin in a 1-0 game that was decided by Rookie of the Year Joy Dunne in the middle of the third period. Wisconsin and OSU have battled for the championship, with Wisconsin winning in 2021, OSU in 2022, Wisconsin beating OSU in the 2023 finals, and this year, OSU beating Wisconsin for the 2024 Championship. Dunne’s goal was assisted by Cayla Barnes and Hannah Bilka, both graduate student transfers from Boston College. Senior Buckeyes goalie Raygan Kirk made 27 saves, earning her a shutout in her final game. Overall, the Buckeyes finished the season 35-4, with Bilka leading the team in points, closely followed by Jennifer Gardiner, Joy Dunne, and Kiara Zanon. The OSU goalie also finished the season strong, notably Kirk with a .945 save percentage and Amanda Thiele with .905%. Looking ahead, the Buckeyes team will be very different, as they have 16 graduating students on their team. On the other hand, Wisconsin will have a strong group next year, including Eden Simms, Laula Edwards, Caroline Harvey, Cassie Hall, Ava Murphy, and Laney Potter.


bottom of page